What is ross short for?

According to Ancestry.com Ross is Ross. From the Germanic name Rozzo, a short form of various compound names, introduced to England by Normans in the form Roce. German and Ashkenazic: occupational name for a breeder or keeper of horses, Middle High German Ros; Jewish: Americanized form of Rose 3.