What is a gypsy moth?

Lymantria dispar dispar, commonly known as the gypsy moth, European gypsy moth, or North American gypsy moth, is a moth in the family Erebidae. It is classified as a pest, and its larvae consume the leaves of over 500 species of trees, shrubs and plants. It is one of the 100 most destructive species