Why is the hunter's moon called the hunter's moon?

October's Hunter's Moon was given its name because it was at this time of year that tribes gathered meat for the long winter ahead.

---

The Hunter's Moon is the first Full Moon after the Harvest Moon, the Full Moon nearest the autumnal equinox, and it gets its name from hunters who tracked and killed their prey, stockpiling food for the winter ahead. In general, a full moon allows hunters to clearly see their prey during the night.