Who is pete and pete sake?

They have their origins as being substitute phrases for something stronger. In this case these idioms were used as replacements for “for Christ's sake”, “for God's sake”, “for the love of God” etc. According to the Oxford Dictionary, the name Pete in these exclamations is chiefly a euphemism for God