How many possible moves are there in chess?

From Chess Journal: there are over 9 million variations after 3 moves each, 288 billion different possible positions after 4 moves each & 318,000,000,000 ways to play just the first 4 moves. In a match, there are more possible iterations of chess games than there are atoms in the observable universe