Is it ok to kiss your cat?

It is true that the bacteria in a cat's mouth is quite similar to that of humans. ... However, cats contain certain other bacteria in their mouths, which cause gum disease. As predators, they also eat animals and insects that may harbor diseases. To be safe, avoid kissing your cat on the lips.