How many zebras are in america?

Owning a zebra is perfectly legal in most of the United States. Nancy Nunke, who 10 years ago founded the International Zebra-Zorse-Zonkey Association (IZZZA), estimates that 3,000 zebras roam, kick and graze in American backyards.