What causes the tide?

Tides are caused by the gravitational interaction between the Earth and the Moon. The gravitational attraction of the moon causes the oceans to bulge out in the direction of the moon, then another bulge occurs on the opposite side, since the Earth is also being pulled toward the moon.

---

Ocean tides are caused by the gravitational interaction between the Earth and the Moon.