How long did it take edmund hillary to climb mount everest?

It took seven weeks of climbing. New Zealander, Sir Edmund Hillary (1919–2008), and Nepalese Sherpa, Tenzing Norgay (1914–1986), reached the top of Mount Everest, the highest mountain in the world, at 11:30 a.m. on May 29, 1953. They were the first people to ever reach the summit of Mount Everest.