Does fudge need to be stored in the refrigerator?

No. Fudge will keep at room temperature just fine. You can keep it in the refrigerator if you feel that you like it cold–and some people prefer it that way. In this case, just make sure it is air tight, as cold air will surely dry out your fudge quicker.