How are last names invented?

There isn't one way last names are developed. Some last names reveal family lines, like who the person's father or mother was. Other last names may mean a location of where the family resided. A third way last names were created was by the profession of the person.

---

Family names frequently developed from hypocoristic forms of given names. ... A great number of family names come from patronymic surnames; in English they are usually formed by the suffixation of -son. Patronymic surnames can be formed from the father's given name or from any of its variants.