What author was expelled from the u. s. military academy at west point?

It's not hard to believe that Edgar Allan Poe, author of “The Pit and the Pendulum” and other horror stories, went to the United States Military Academy at West Point. Poe tried hard to get kicked out of West Point, and in 1831, he succeeded.