What is the rancor from star wars?

A Rancor is a reptilian-like, monstrous bipedal creature with armored skin, long forearms, and a salivating mouthful of disorderly teeth. In ‘Return of the Jedi,’ Luke Skywalker fights and subsequently defeats a Rancor at Jabba the Hutt’s palace.