What percentage of the world is desert?

Seen from space, the majority of the Earth's surface is covered by oceans – that makes up 71% of the surface of the Earth, with the remaining 29% for land. But what percentage of the Earth's land surface is desert? Deserts actually make up 33%, or 1 3rd of the land's surface area.