What is the difference between a positive lightning strike and a negative lightning strike?

A negative strike originates from negative ions in the bottom of the cloud and strikes nearby. A positive strike originates from positive ions in the top of the cloud. It is more dangerous both because it is more powerful, and can strike miles away out of a clear sky.