What animals carry rabies?

Any mammals can get rabies; birds, fish, reptiles and amphibians do not. In the United States, most cases of rabies occur in wild animals—mainly skunks, raccoons, bats, coyotes, and foxes. In recent years, cats have become the most common domestic animal infected with rabies.

---

Any mammal can get rabies. In extremely rare cases some birds of prey have contracted rabies. Fish, reptiles and amphibians cannot carry rabies.