How do i make a sponge in minecraft?

You can "dig" wet sponges in the Ocean Monument or you can find and kill an Elder Guardian. Then you need to dry the wet sponges in your furnace. Put fuel in the bottom of the furnace and the wet sponge in the top. Once dry the sponge will be available to move into your inventory.