What are the odds of getting in a car accident?

A report by Esurance found that 77% of drivers have been in at least one accident. Chances of getting into a car accident during a 1,000-mile trip are 1 in 366. Car insurance estimates that the average driver will file an insurance claim for an auto collision once every 17.9 years.