Why do onions make you cry?

Cutting onions causes lachrymatory-factor synthase to be released, which combines with sulfur in the onion to form syn-propanethial-S-oxide. This is a volatile compound which easily turns into a gas and stimulates your lachrymal (tear) glands, causing you to cry.