What flavor is campari?

Campari is an alcoholic liqueur, considered an apéritif, obtained from the infusion of herbs and fruit in alcohol and water. Campari smells bitter like orange rinds and bitter greens. The bitterness is strong but there are notes of sweet cherry and orange, and a spicy edge reminiscent of cinnamon.