When did nickelodeon come out?

The channel Nickelodeon launched on December 1, 1977.

---

Pinwheel was re-launched as Nickelodeon on April 1,1979 & despite its prior history on the QUBE system under the Pinwheel name, Nickelodeon declared 1979 as the network's official launch year. It began on various Warner Cable systems, beginning in Buffalo, NY, & quickly expanded its audience reach.