What is rot iron?

Perhaps you mean Wrought iro. It is an iron alloy with a very low carbon content in contrast to that of cast iron. It is a semi-fused mass of iron with fibrous slag inclusions, which gives it a "grain" resembling wood that is visible when it is etched, rusted, or bent to the point of failure.

---

Wrought iron is an iron alloy with a very low carbon content, in contrast to cast iron. It is a semi-fused mass of iron with fibrous slag inclusions, which gives it a grainy texture. It's tough, malleable, ductile, corrosion resistant & easily forge welded, but is more difficult to weld electrically