How did the white house get it's name?

The oldest record of the term “White House” was in a letter written by Congressman Abijah Bigelow, of Massachusetts in 1812. The term became official in 1901, when President Theodore Roosevelt changed the current name from “Executive Mansion,” to distinguish it from state governor homes.