What is the white stuff in baked salmon?

The white stuff on salmon is called albumin. Albumin is a protein that exists in the fish in liquid form when it's raw, but coagulates and becomes semi-solid when you subject the salmon to heat, whether that's in the oven, on the stove, or on the grill.