How long is toilet paper been around?

The use of paper for hygiene has been recorded in China, in the 6th century AD. Manufactured toilet paper was mass-produced in the 14th century. Modern commercial toilet paper originated in the 19th century, with a patent for roll-based dispensers being made in 1883.