What happened to king louis of france?

Louis XIV was King of France from 1643 until his death in 1715. He died of gangrene four days before his 77th birthday, after 72 years on the throne. His body was laid to rest in Saint-Denis Basilica outside Paris where it remained for 80 years until revolutionaries exhumed and destroyed it.