How many hours is it from new york to virginia?

By bus or car traveling at an average of 55 miles per hour, the trip takes about 8 hours. By jet, the trip takes up to 2.5 hours. By train, the trip takes up to 9 hours. There are rumors of a new express train from DC to NYC that will take 6 hours.