How does something become kosher?

For land animals, any creature that both chews its cud and has split hooves is kosher. For sea creatures, any fish that has both fins and scales is acceptable, and for birds, only those birds approved by the Torah. Other products, like salt, can be kosher if produced under kosher supervision.