Why is a coconut called a coconut?

Coco' and 'coconut' apparently came from 1521 encounters by Portuguese and Spanish explorers with Pacific islanders, with the coconut shell reminding them of a ghost or witch in Portuguese folklore called coco (also côca). The specific name nucifera is Latin for "nut-bearing".