How do you tell a male fish from a female fish?

That really depends on the type of fish. For Fish that are live bearers, the male has a pointy fin below his abdominal area that is used to deliver his sperm directly into the female’s body. The female has a more rounded fin in the same area. The sex of egg laying fish is much harder to tell.