Is there a bug called no-see-um?

Noseeum is a name for a family of biting flies that are so small, they have no trouble flying through mesh screen. Other names include sand flies & biting midges. The females feed on blood as a source of protein for their eggs, & like mosquitos, their saliva may transmit disease to animals & people.