Do plants like sugar?

Sugar does help plants grow. Plants use carbon dioxide as their main carbon source so they do not need sugar in their substrate to grow. But young plants and tissue plant clones that aren't yet efficiently producing sugars through photosynthesis can benefit from the extra carbon stored in sucrose.