How tall is a cinder block?

The most common dimensions for a cinder block are about 8-by-8-by-16 inches. The actual measurements, are 7 5/8 X-7 5/8-by-15 5/8. The difference is to accommodate a mortar joint between blocks, typically 3/8-inch thick, so when the blocks are laid, the finished dimensions are multiples of 8 inches.