How do you know if your dog is sad?

Researchers don't think dogs get sad. They can be depressed and anxious and those can look like sadness to the owner. Withdrawing from the family not eating or drinking and sometimes destructive behavior can be signs of depression in dogs. If you see a major attitude change take your dog to the vet.