Who said revenge is sweet and not fattening?

The aphorism revenge is sweet... and not fattening, is often credited to film director Alfred Hitchcock, but it is not certain whether he ever said it. The other candidate for the phrase is Edgar Bergen, whose use of the phrase was mentioned by gossip columnist Louella Parsons, in April 1954.