Is plantain a berry?

Yes, botanically, a plantain is a berry. In botany, a berry is a fleshy fruit without a stone, or pit, produced from a single flower containing one ovary. Berries so defined include, grapes, currants, and tomatoes, as well as cucumbers, eggplants and bananas.