How do you get amethyst in minecraft?

Amethyst geodes generate commonly between Y=70 and bedrock regardless of whether generate structures is toggled on or off. Each chunk has a less than 2% chance to generate a geode. Sometimes they are exposed on the surface, such as on beaches and underwater in oceans.