What's the difference between a queen and queen consort?

“Queen Consort” is used for the wife of a reigning king. The title of "Queen" is reserved only for female rulers who became monarch through the line of succession.

---

According to The Economic Times News, a Queen ascends to the throne through succession, but a Queen Consort is simply the wife of the reigning monarch.