Why is salt water taffy called salt water taffy?

According to Jersey Shore Legend, in Atlantic City there was a candy shop by the sea shore who sold taffy one day a girl walked in right after a storm which ruined all the candy and asked for a taffy. The shop owner said, Do you mean Salt water taffy?The girl's mother liked it and the name continued