When was the first plane crash ever?

The first time that a crash caused substantial damage to a powered aircraft was on July 14, 1905, with pilot Orville Wright. On Sept. 17, 1908, a modified Wright Brothers aircraft crashed during a demonstration, seriously injuring pilot Orville Wright and killing U.S. Army Lt. Thomas E. Selfridge.