What's the difference between mumbai and bombay?

In 1995 after the end of British Imperial rule, the city of Bombay was renamed Mumbai. The locals decided the city must be named after Mumba , the Kali goddess’ name, and Aai, which means “mother” in the Marathi tongue. The move for change ended with the creation of the city’s new name Mumbai.