Where does the name colton come from?

Colton is a surname of Irish origin. Comhaltán Ua Cleirigh, King of Uí Fiachrach Aidhne in AD 964 appears to be the first recorded use of this name. Comaltan, originally a forename, became Ó Cómhaltáin the surname (son of Comaltan), anglicized into synonym of cotton, meaning "to come to understand"