How many dinosaur types are there?

There can be no definitive answer to this question since the species is extinct. In 2016, the estimated number of dinosaur species that existed in the Mesozoic was 1,543 to 2,468. In 2021, the number of modern-day birds, or avian dinosaurs, was estimated to be at 10,806 species.