What does fortnite mean?

A fortnight is a unit of time equal to 14 days. The word derives from the Old English term fēowertyne niht, meaning "fourteen nights". In North America it is usual to say biweekly.

---

Fortnite appears to be a play on the word "fortnight" which means "a period of two weeks." Save the World, Epic's original concept for the game, centers on surviving in a post-apocalyptic world for 14 days. ... Thus, in Save the World, you must build forts to survive two weeks of nighttime attacks.