How do you cut an onion?

Cut the top, then slice in half. Slice about a half an inch off the top and discard. Peel off the papery layers and discard the skin. Chop vertically. Take one onion half and lay it flat on your cutting board. Hold by root end and don't cut all the way through. Then chop horizontally the same way.