Where did the term battleaxe come from?

Battle-axes came from the Viking age. The throwing axe was very important to the barbarians until the seventh century, when fewer barbarians were able to skillfully throw them than there were skillful archers. The handheld axe was still a favored weapon throughout the rest of the Middle Ages.