How long can fish be out of water?

Fish can live out of water for between ten minutes and two months, depending on the species. Typically, amphibious and brackish water fish can survive far longer out of the water than freshwater fish species. Neon tetras and guppies can't survive for more than ten minutes when out of their tanks.