How many rounds in submachine gun?

Using cartridges of such calibres as . 45 inch or 9 mm, they usually have box-type magazines that hold from 10 to 50 cartridges, or occasionally drums holding more rounds. A short-range weapon, the submachine gun is rarely effective at more than 200 yards (180 m).