How deep can a dolphin swim?

The deepest dive ever recorded for a dolphin was 300 meters (990 feet). This was recorded by the U.S. Navy when training dolphins. However, in their natural setting, it is believed that dophins do not dive very deep. Many bottlenosed dolphins live in relatively shallow water.