Why are they called bangs?

“Bang,” according to the OED, means “all of a sudden,” or “suddenly and abruptly or all at once, as in ‘to cut a thing bang off. Grammarphobia.com, says “band-tail” was used to describe a straight cut of a horse’s tail, and was later adopted to describe the straight cut of hair across the forehead.